I'm not sure just how many places sell Sushi, or at least a variation of the traditional Japanese entree that is a staple of Western Culture's ongoing obsession with the technologically super advanced island nation of Japan. But just like white guys who date Asian girls there's at least 2 or 3 everywhere.
I'll admit I like sushi- I don't love it, I like it. There's a certain faux sense of superiority when I hand over close to $20 for what equates to 2 square inches of salmon flesh arranged artistically on half a cup of boiled rice. I feel like a true cosmopolitan hipster when I use the chop sticks- if not slightly embarrassed in the presence of an Asian person (I always feel like I'm doing it wrong). And there's always a part of me that justifies the purchase...somehow. And there's the added pretentiousness of it being healthy and a source of omega 3.
The other things I like: The little fish shaped soy sauce containers, which could be the greatest marketing genius since the happy meal. They're fun, cute, toy like and I'm certain the fishing lure design is not a coincidence.
The wasabi paste, which if I can eat without it feeling like I've chemically burned my sinuses I feel I'm a head of the game.
The pink ginger, like a marriage made in randomness.
But it is at the end of the day, overhyped, overpriced, and overdoing it- especially when you see the queue outside the newest Sushi Train restaurant in the city.
Friday, September 9, 2011
Monday, August 22, 2011
Welcome to BS Tofu
In order to express my monumental disappointment at how the pop culture of my youth is being not only publicly executed by hollywood but then thrown unceremoniously into the stump grinder of mass media I figured hey, gotta love a free blogging website, am I right?
The reason for these written and occasionally filmed reviews is to say to the art direction that goes into these movies that are, for want of better words FUCKING UGLY!!!
Seriously my first review is the Garfield movies- and when I say "review" I use the term loosely! I did not nor have any desire to see these worthless pieces of hastily slapped together with little or no regard for the source material crap. I'm really just commenting on the things I just noticed from first glance- much like judging a book by its cover, minus the negative connotation that always seems to stir in the minds of the knee jerk politically correct.
First up Odie.
Question: How do you go from this?
TO THIS!?!
No seriously what was the executive decision to take such a recognisable iconic character and COMPLETELY FUCK IT UP?!?
A poorly computer animated Garfield I can barely tolerate but ODIE IS NOT A REAL DOG!!! As much as it probably saved a shit tonne of money to character "live action" it makes Garfield look even more out of place!
How does a franchise powerhouse like Garfield get so ROYALLY SCREWED?
The reason for these written and occasionally filmed reviews is to say to the art direction that goes into these movies that are, for want of better words FUCKING UGLY!!!
Seriously my first review is the Garfield movies- and when I say "review" I use the term loosely! I did not nor have any desire to see these worthless pieces of hastily slapped together with little or no regard for the source material crap. I'm really just commenting on the things I just noticed from first glance- much like judging a book by its cover, minus the negative connotation that always seems to stir in the minds of the knee jerk politically correct.
First up Odie.
Question: How do you go from this?
TO THIS!?!
No seriously what was the executive decision to take such a recognisable iconic character and COMPLETELY FUCK IT UP?!?
A poorly computer animated Garfield I can barely tolerate but ODIE IS NOT A REAL DOG!!! As much as it probably saved a shit tonne of money to character "live action" it makes Garfield look even more out of place!
How does a franchise powerhouse like Garfield get so ROYALLY SCREWED?
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

